SC

Saarinen Tulip Table-A Design Classic

In domino, inspiration, Interiors, saarinen on January 25, 2010 at 8:00 am

One of my best girlfriends recently told me that she and her husband were considering investing in a Saarinen tulip table. I quickly said great idea, and I can’t wait until I can also invest in such a classic. It was designed more than 50 years ago by Eero Saarinen and has remained a design icon since-frequently popping up in decor magazines and all over the blogosphere. Said friend didn’t know what chairs to pair the table with and I said I have about a dozen images of the table in my inspiration file. The best thing about the table is its versality-it can go super modern or can stay somewhat traditional depending on the chairs. So here you go…

Paired with Bertoia Chairs-it has a mid-century/Palm Springs feel.

There are so many things I love about this room, but the focus is the table. Here it is paired with the Tulip Chairs which again keep it modern, but the rest of the furnishings add an almost vintage touch.

The Tulip Table and Bentwood Chairs are like Peanut Butter and Jelly-they just go well together. I love the contrast of the dark chairs with the white table.

Here is the table with Czech chairs-also a great combination. The chairs add so much interest while complimenting the table.

I think this is my favorite combo. The Saarinen again paired with bentwood chairs. Again, I love the wood juxtaposed with the sleek table.

Here the table is paired with more traditional Klismos/Ram’s Head Chairs. A beautiful pairing as well.

The Saarinen is such a classic that pretty much anything goes. KGT-I hope one or all of the images inspires you!

PS-DWR is having its annual Knoll Sale-15% off which makes it an even better reason to invest in a Saarinen.


Share Share

Leave a Reply

