SC

StyleCurator City Guide-Los Angeles Edition

In C Magazine, city guide, inspiration, Interiors on January 31, 2010 at 6:22 pm

A “Black Book” of resources is perhaps the best secret weapon of any designer or girl in the know.  I decided to compile a brief list of some of my favorite spots around Los Angeles and share them with you.

Favorite Florist-Hoot and Heart

Image Property of Hoot and Heart

Hoot and Heart is owned by brother and sister team-Laura and Blake. Both are extremely talented at not only floral design, but event planning and styling. Their small store on Montana is filled with the most beautiful art (by Blake), vessels and objets (many also designed by the duo), and of course, drop-dead gorgeous flowers. I’m so lucky that I live so close to the store-it is so inspiring to pop in and see what’s going on in the creative world that is Hoot and Heart.

Hoot and Heart

1016 Montana Ave

Santa Monica, Ca

Favorite Stationery Store-Sugar Paper

Sugar Paper has two locations-Century City and the Brentwood Country Mart-one of my favorite shopping destinations. I’ve never been disappointed with any purchase I’ve made. The cards are tasteful and classy. Their letter press services are top-notch and just walking into the stores is inspiring and pretty.

Sugar Paper

25 26th St

Santa Monica, Ca


Favorite Magazine Stand-Robertson Magazine and Bookstore

When I used to be an assistant, I would drive all over Los Angeles running errands. A lot of the time I would find myself near this magazine stand and would notice that every so often they would have a certain magazine (C Magazine-my fave!) a day or two earlier then the other stands I would frequent. They  have a decent selection of foreign print magazines as well.

Robertson Magazine and Books

1414 South Robertson Boulevard,

Los Angeles, Ca
(310) 858-1804

Favorite Store for Bedding-Ralph Lauren, Williams-Sonoma Home, John Robshaw

Williams Sonoma Home Cashmere Throws

I had to split the bedding into a few categories-I chose Ralph Lauren Home and Williams-Sonoma Home because they both have classic sheeting, all the bedding essentials, and great bedding accessories-cashmere throws, pillows, etc. They are like one-stop shops for the basics and they aren’t too expensive. I love John Robshaw textiles-yo can get them at Anthropologie and Calypso Home in Brentwood or online

Ralph Lauren

444 N Rodeo Dr

Beverly Hills, Ca

Williams-Sonoma Home

8772 Beverly Blvd

West Hollywood, Ca

Favorite All Around Design Store-Mecox Gardens

Mecox Gardens

Hands Down the best LA source for decorating. They carry a wide range of products-from furniture to accessories to coffee table books at all price points! I can always count on Dave and Kris to help me find what I’m looking for. The store is a treasure trove and I always find something for everyone-whether they are modern or traditional.

Mecox Gardens

919 N La Cienega

West Hollywood, Ca


Share Share

  1. it’s great! Molto bello!

  2. Now I want to jump on the next flight to Los Angeles! Love all these shops and C Magazine is such a fun read! XO

Leave a Reply

