SC

Art Inspiring Fashion

In inspiration, joan mitchell, Spring 2010 RTW, Vogue Mazine on January 7, 2010 at 8:32 pm

I love Joan Mitchell‘s expressionist paintings. Mitchell was one of the few female painters to break into the male dominated abstract art world during the 1950s. She was greatly inspired by landscapes which is evident in her use of color. When I was browsing the Spring 2010 collections, a lot of the prints and colors reminded me of Mitchell’s work.

Doo.Ri Spring 2010

DKNY Spring 2010

Proenza Schouler Spring 2010

Charles and Olya Thompson's Home and Daughters As Featured in Vogue 1/10

I included the bottom picture because I loved this spread in the January Issue of Vogue. See more pictures here.  But also because the colors totally reminded me of the Mitchell at the top of this post. Art inspiring photography perhaps?

  1. These are so beautiful, very bright and uplifting. Makes a change from the drab greys and nudes I’ve been looking at all winter!

  2. Nice! As an artist who is trying to get some of my art-work into fabric and tile applications I really appreciate your article. Thank you for sharing.

  3. What a great way of translating paintings to another medium such as fabric and clothing….I too am a painter….very influenced by Joan Mitchell and often wonder what my work may look like translated to clothing…thank you for a wonderful post. robertredus.wordpress.com

  4. What a great way of translating paintings to another medium such as fabric and clothing.I too am a painter.very influenced by Joan Mitchell and often wonder what my work may look like translated to clothingthank you for a wonderful post. robertredus.wordpress.com

  5. Such beautiful paintings and inspiring designs.
    I can’t say I’m at all surprised by this trend. All creative medias are converging these days, and fashion and art seem as well matched as any. For what is a dress other than a piece of art you show the world

  6. very nice painting, thanks for sharing

  7. Wow, some real similarities came out in that.

    Beautiful paintings, beautiful dresses!

    I love vogue anyway – I can’t usually afford it D: but I’ll check out that spread.

    Thanks for the great post.

    x

  8. very nice!!!! thanks for sharing!

  9. You guys have to check out this new art piece. This guy has put together a bunch of letter art and some is really cool.
    http://www.wordsaroundtown.com

  10. I love all the colors. Nice new trend.

  11. Tabea… Selamat Baku Dapa n Salam Kenal Dari Manado – Indonesia. Nice Blog. Thanks,-

  12. Rather interesting and some of the fashion isn’t too bad. Good eye and recall!

  13. I LOVE FASHION!!! The designs were great! The art was great! I thought it was clever to make a piece of fashion clothing with the inspiration of art! One of my career interests are fashion designing or photographer or maybe even an artist. As i say its very “INKY”.

  14. Any idea where someone can get prints of Joan Mitchell’s work? I need some of that in my life!!!!

  15. WOW GREAT Post. I love this. new to me.

  16. […] Row: Right: Joan Mitchell Middle: Cy Twombly Left: Elliott […]

Leave a comment